Team Lorcana Q&A – 4th session Answers

This may have been an informal Q&A but we got a whole bunch of questions answered!

Note: All ruling related answers have been updated into the Mushu Report Wiki under Category: Card Rulings, which also provide the direct links to the source for the rulings.

Here are all the questions and answers from the Team Lorcana: Informal Q&A answered by Lorcana co-designer Steve Warner!

Card Rulings

1.) Can Iago: Loud-Mouthed Parrot target Gaston: Arrogant Hunter with (“YOU GOT A PROBLEM?”)?
2.) If the answer to question one is: yes… if the SAME Gaston: Arrogant Hunter is shifted to Gaston: Intellectual Powerhouse does it still have Reckless from Iago’s effect?
Iago attempts to put a temporary keyword on Gaston, since Gaston already has it, that part fails. When Gaston shifts, he will not have reckless because that temporary keyword was not added, so no ongoing effect is happening.
For Be Prepared, do we choose the order that our Characters are Banished and do so one at a time, or do they all get Banished at once.
Basically are “effects that are simultaneous” treated differently than “simultaneous effects”
They are all banished at the same time and go to the discard pile. All effects are added to a pool of triggered effects. These effects can be resolved in any order. (cont.)
To use a metaphor, triggered effects aren’t set in a list, think of it as each effect is a marble and you’re adding them to a bag. For resolution you can choose any effect from your bag of marbles in any order. If a new marble enters your bag, it can be picked or another can.
If all 3 Musketeers are on the board together with a single copy of Musketeer Tabard, how many cards are drawn? (Regarding Be Prepared)You may draw up to 3 cards. After each draw, you can resolve anything else in between, but you can still draw up to 3.
If I challenge a Magic Broom with a Giant Tink when my opponent has either a Dr. F – Agent Provocator or a Sorcerer Mickey that only has 2 willpower left does Puny Pirate banish them before being able to return Broom to hand? I assume not.She can banish them before returning Magic Broom to hand, but it doesn’t stop the effect of Magic Broom returning to hand from resolving.
Whether you sing a song or pay the ink cost to play it while you have Ursula’s Necklace out, can you still pay the additional cost on the card to draw one card? (Singing was noted to be the same as playing the cards according the the rules we have).Yes, it doesn’t matter if a character Sings it or if you pay ink to play it, playing a Song triggers any number of Ursula Shell Necklace items you have in play.
Am I able to resolve “You Have Forgotten Me” while my opponent has only 1 card in hand?Yes. They don’t need two or even any cards in hand.
Do you have to resolve the first bag of marbles before more marbles can be added? Or is there a second bag that gets started?It’s one bag of marbles, it doesn’t need to be empty to add more and it doesn’t matter how recently you added a marble to take one out.
So with Cogsworth can you exert a reckless character to ignore the “must challenge” and gain lore?Yes! That’s the idea of the ability, since they’re exerted they’re no longer able to challenge.
Just to get a confirmation, if I get to use Cogsworth ability a 2nd time while Gaston was on the board both times, would Gaston gain 1 lore or 2 lore when exerting for this ability?Having multiple instances of this ability doesn’t change the ability. It is always “Exert -> Gain 1 lore.” regardless of how many Cogsworth cards are on the board.
But if they challenge the card is also exerted so do they gain lore when challenging as well?No, they gain an ability that allows you to exert them to Gain 1 lore. You would be doing this instead of challenging if you choose.

General / Keyword Rulings

Is there a max limit to how many characters that can be in play at once?There is no limit!
Looking for a statement to refer people
A Character/Item is considered “Played” when all costs are paid and it enters the field?
An Action is considered “Played” when all costs paid and its effect has resolved?
That is correct.
How does the support character work? I see on the app it says character’s? Does that mean when i quest with a support character that i can add the support to multiple different characters when they challenge? Or can i only add it to one character?When you quest with a character that has the Support keyword, you can add that Support character’s strength to any character you choose other than the Support character.
when I use the Support ability, can multiple characters gain the support in a single turn? Or is only 1 character aloud to gain the ability per turn?Multiple characters can be supported and one character can be supported by multiple characters.
I’ve seen this pop up in league matches: Can a character whose ink is still wet and/or is unexerted be the target of an action or ability of another card?Of course!
If an evasive card challenges a non-evasive, do they still trade damage?Yes!
When you shift a character to a new version it replaces the old versions ability right? I’m a little confused by the apps use of the word combination in the rules blurb about shifting.When you shift, you no longer have any of the previous abilities of the cards underneath. You still retain any effects that were on the card that you shifted on to if applicable. (Strength boost from an action, or Reckless if you were chosen for The Beast is Mine action).
if i exert a character , then use alter , does this character can be ready for quest song or challenge.? ThanksIf you shift a character on an exerted character, the shift character is still exerted.


we will have sideboard in the game since is bo3?Anything regarding Organized Play rules will be announced at a later date.
Hey Steve! Two part question (1) How much lore can Darkwing Duck quest for in a future set of Disney Lorcana? (2) Is Darkwing an enchanted?I am the terror that flaps in the night, I am the batteries that are not included, I am the card that’s not in this set!

One comment

  1. Regarding ursula deciver of all, the card reads you may play the song from discard THEN put it to the bottom of your deck, with bibbidy boppidy boo, it reads to play a card from hand for free after returning a character, and lady Tremaine wicked stepmother says to return a action from discard to hand. From my understanding a card is not played until it finishes resolving which would mean that ursulas effect to put the card to the bottom of your deck would not trigger until boo resolves, which would not resolve until lady Tremaine has returned an action. My question is if that spell is untargetable because it is being resolved (e.g how magic cards go to “the stack”) or if it is played while remaining in the discard zone. Or if there’s something I’m not understanding about this interaction that would not allow Tremaine to target the boo being played in discard from ursula to loop it back to hand before it is tucked under the deck? Thank you.

Leave a Reply